izmir escort
casino siteleri - slot siteleri
travesti porno
casino siteleri

Basic Overview Of The Driving Licence Categories

A driving licence basically gives permission to a person to drive a specific kind of vehicle on the road such as a two-wheeler, four-wheeler or a commercial vehicle. This official document is mandatory if you want to drive on public roads. The type of driving licence that you can possess depends on the class and type of motor vehicle. The different types of driving licence categories are as follows:

(a) Motor Cycle without gear

Two-wheelers with a capacity of up to 50 CC are a part of this DL category. A candidate should at least be 18 years old to drive a motorcycle without gear. He/she should also know about all the traffic rules and regulations. For vehicles without gear but having more than 50 CC capacity, the same type of driving license is issued, although ideally, those vehicles should not be classified in this category.

Different Driving Licence Categories for HGV Drivers

(b) Motor Cycle with gear

For driving a motorcycle without gear, a person should be at least 16 years old. Apart from this, permission from either guardian or parents is also mandatory. For motorcycles with gear, RTOs issue a distinct licence after which a person is allowed to drive any class of two-wheeler with gear. It is worthy to note that only RTOs have the authority to issue a licence in India. For example, driving licence in Maharashtra (MH) for motorcycles with gear can only be issued by the RTO Offices in Maharashtra.

(c) Invalid Carriage

Going by the definition mentioned in section 2 (18) of MV Act 1988, an invalid carriage is primarily a kind of vehicle especially created and designed for a physically disabled person. Therefore, this type of vehicle can only be used for those who have a disability or dysfunctionality. A valid licence is required for driving the invalid carriage and the same is issued by the local RTOs.

(d) Light Motor Vehicle (NT)

The motor car, tractor, motor cab, etc are classified as the light motor vehicle. Even the non-transport vehicles including an agricultural tractor is a type of LMT vehicle. Basically, all the vehicles except two-wheelers come under this category. For Light motor vehicles, the specific driving licence is issued by the Regional Transport Office.

(e) Transport Vehicles

Medium Passenger Motor Vehicle, Heavy Goods Vehicle, Medium Goods Vehicle and Heavy Passenger Motor Vehicle are included in this category. All these vehicles are usually public service vehicles or else act as a goods carrier. Educational Institutional Bus are also categorized as transport vehicles. The RTOs in our country issue a driving licence for transport vehicles.

(f) Road Roller

To be able to drive a Road Roller, you need a separate kind of driving licence. A road roller is a compactor-type fleet which primarily is used in compact gravel, soil, concrete, or asphalt. They are normally used during the construction of foundations and roads.

(g) Motor Vehicles of a specified description

An Auto Rickshaw which is not a part of the above class of vehicles can be included in this category. All the above classes of vehicles are specified in section 10 (a) to Section 10 (g) of MV Act 1988 and those fleets that are not incorporated in these sections are listed as motor vehicles of a specified description.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button